Memos from the Middle

Smack-Dab in the Middle of Motherhood

Last Night I Smiled

Last night,
I dreamed of unfulfilled promises,
hoping they’d come true.

I let nostalgia splash coyly
about my consciousness,
as I walked the imaginary
roads to yesterday.
The twists and turns
of regressed journeys
skirted the surfaces of memory,
and I held tightly
to hazy lessons
and retrospective truths
finding meaning in nothingness.

I gazed longingly
toward energies renewed
and waltzed with desire.
The spirit affirming power
of revisited awareness
suspended my senses
in tantalizing expectancy.

I tripped
and softly fell
into a temporary bed
of broadening horizons,
and then I was catapulted
into some semblance
of  tomorrow.
I landed
in the sun-drenched newness,
nearly unseeing in the transparency,
and I searched
for something familiar.
In the lighted obscurity,
I met your stare
and ran toward your embrace.
In the collapse of your arms,
I saw us
later
and now
and then.

Last night,
I dreamed of you,
and I smiled.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Last Night I Smiled

  1. I didn’t even realize I was holding my breath the entire time I was reading this. I loved it.

  2. good2begone on said:

    Beautiful!

  3. Angela on said:

    WOW, each stanza pulls you further and further into each word with a desire for more. Love it!

  4. i can only say it again! why not think of putting out a book of poems.

    • You’re the second person in a week to ask me this, but I have always thought that my poetry was my weakest style. Go figure, right? I’m going take this into some serious consideration. Thank you for the support! I really needed this today. 🙂

  5. Damien on said:

    It would be hard for me to imagine that any of this is about me. If it is, I’m blushing hard as hell.

Let's Hear What You're Thinking...

