Memos from the Middle

Smack-Dab in the Middle of Motherhood

First Love

for poetry challenge week 7

Midnights

 

ramblings in the kitchen

wake my sleeping frame

and i creep down the steps

toward the light

 

there you are

not so fresh from work

snacking on a cold dinner

left earlier in the night

 

you pull my chair close

and get the tiny plate

splitting your dessert

so i too can eat

 

you listen to my silliness

giggle at my jokes

and wow me with stories

of some random urban street

 

you take me back to bed

and tuck me snuggly in

kissing me on the cheek

after we’ve conversed

 

you bid me sweet dreams

wave a hearty good-bye

and tell me you love me

before I can say it first

Single Post Navigation

Let's Hear What You're Thinking...

